Connect with NAS!

Find NATS on Facebook and Twitter


The Nebraska Association of Teachers of Science has two awards which are presented annually, the Catalyst Award and the Nebraska Scientific Award.  NATS also has presented Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching since 1983.
Catalyst Award

The Catalyst Award is given annually by the Nebraska Association of Teachers of Science at the Fall Conference.  The Catalyst Award recognizes "contributions to science education in Nebraska."  

2016 Catalyst Award Winner

Deb Paulman
ESU 16
For her work with KICKS and LINKS

Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching (PAEMST)

PAEMST is the nation's highest honor for teachers of science. Only one science teacher per state is awarded each year.  
In Even Years, a K-6 teacher is awarded.
In Odd Years, a 7-12 teacher is awarded.

2015 PAEMST Recipient

Nicole Miller
Lakeview Jr-Sr High, Columbus

Nebraska Presidential Award Winners 

NE PAWS recognizes the top applicants for PAEMST from Nebraska each year.  The finalists receive a $500 award from NAS.  The top two are then sent to PAEMST for consideration.

2016 NE PAWS Recipients

Marlo Tomich
Swanson Elementary, Omaha

Janice Buss
Centennial Public School, Utica

2016 NE PAWS Honorees

Myra Hudson
Miller Park Elementary, Omaha

Karen Humphrey
Adams Elementary, Omaha


Nebraska's PAEMST Winners

A complete list of the Past PAEMST winners 


Nominate someone for PAEMST

Nomination forms and additional
information at
National PAEMST website

The Nebraska Scientific Award
NATS annually awards science educators who have been active members in NATS for 20 years with a medallion.  This is presented at the Fall Conference. 

GW Brown Company Pinnacle Award

Presented by Gary Brown to recognize outstanding leadership in Science Education. 

Each recipient receives a plaque and an antique microscope from Gary's collection.
2015 - Ed Brogie 
2014 - Dr. Kirsten Smith 
2013 - Dr. Sally Harms 
2012 - Jim Woodland 
2011 - Dr. Joan Christen 
2010 - Dan Sitzman 
2009 - Ross Dinwiddie

Calendar of Events

Nebraska Academy of Sciences, INC.

302 Morrill Hall, 14th and U Streets

Lincoln, NE 68588-0339

Phone: (402) 472-2644

Fax: (402) 472-8899


© Nebraska Academy of Sciences

NAS, NATS, and NJAS are 501(c)3 non-profit organizations.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software